Author Topic: failure to download NOTAM  (Read 5071 times)

94niner

  • Registered User
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
failure to download NOTAM
« on: 01-Jul-2006, 23:56:46 »
Please advise if there is a general NOTAM download problem which has occurred today (1-Jul-06). I am not aware of any changes having taken place at my end.

When attempting to load EGTT I now get a timeout message. Has worked impeccably to date.

SPINE and other gliding software items much appreciated.

Thanks

Geoff (Booker)

94niner

  • Registered User
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Failure to download NOTAM
« Reply #1 on: 02-Jul-2006, 23:14:39 »
Happily the problem seems to have cleared - possibly AIS server was down/fault?

That said when the problem was experienced with SPINE - Notam Map failed to load NOTAM - but Notam Plot did (FWIW).

jeff

  • Administrator
  • Registered User
  • *****
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
    • Jeff Goodenough's Pages
failure to download NOTAM
« Reply #2 on: 04-Jul-2006, 19:16:37 »
I don't know what caused the glitch. Happily, as you report, the problem seems to have resolved itself.

Jeff.

Anonymous

  • Guest
failure to download NOTAM
« Reply #3 on: 28-Aug-2006, 14:36:32 »
I am afraid that Spine was unable to get the Notams, either yesterday or toiday, for the machine I am sitting at now.
Other internet services seem to be working just fine.
Andy Miller
Bennerdown (Keevil)

jeff

  • Administrator
  • Registered User
  • *****
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
    • Jeff Goodenough's Pages
failure to download NOTAM
« Reply #4 on: 28-Aug-2006, 20:50:16 »
I've just checked and it's working fine for me. A couple of questions:
  • Have you run Spine successfully on this computer before?
  • If so, has it suddenly stopped working?
  • Are you running the latest version (i.e. V3.6)?


If 'yes' to all three then that's very odd - unless the NATS web site was down at the time.

When it's not working can you access http://pibs.nats.co.uk/operational/pibs/pib1.shtml?

Anonymous

  • Guest
failure to download NOTAM
« Reply #5 on: 29-Aug-2006, 19:05:46 »
Jeff

I've just checked and it's working fine for me.
- - Likewise, my system at home is OK


Have you run Spine successfully on this computer before?
- - Yes

If so, has it suddenly stopped working?
- - Almost - it was just fine until a few days ago

Are you running the latest version (i.e. V3.6)?
- - Yes

If 'yes' to all three then that's very odd
- - Yes, indeed

 unless the NATS web site was down at the time.
- - No, I was able to pick up the "raw data "just fine.


Andy Miller